Gus Schumacher Awards

Named in honor of former Farmers Market Coalition board member, Gus Schumacher, the annual Gus Schumacher awards recognize individuals who exemplify Gus’ tireless work to bring fresh, local food to Americans of all income levels and backgrounds. Honorees demonstrate Gus’ people-first approach to building coalitions to support farmers market success.

The awards began in 2018 and 1-2 awards are presented annually.

Past winners include: 

  • Stephanie Fenty
  • Kathy Zeman
  • Kate Fitzgerald
  • Eli Cook
  • Darnella Burkett Winston
  • Kelliann Blazek
  • Sagdrina Jalal