Submit your conference, webinar, or training here to have it added to the list.

Growing Your Grassroots: Employing Local Community Leaders for SNAP & Incentive Outreach [Webinar]

Friday, June 5, 2020
1:30pm ET /12:30pm CT/ 11:30am MT /10:30am PT / 9:30am ATF
Read Presenters Bios
Register Here

Interested in engaging community members with outreach, promotion, and education for your market’s nutrition incentive program? Experts will present on two different community outreach programs: FreshLink Ambassadors and Food Navigators that employ community members to spread the word about how to access fresh, healthy, locally grown food. 

FreshLink

FreshLink Ambassadors is a peer-to-peer marketing and outreach approach to spread the word about farmers’ markets to support the use of SNAP and nutrition incentives. Developed and evaluated through community-engaged research at Case Western Reserve University, Prevention Research Center for Healthy Neighborhoods in Cleveland, Ohio, the FreshLink Ambassador approach leverages social connections, trustworthiness, and capacity of community champions who raise awareness about and build social connections to farmers’ markets located in their neighborhoods. The FreshLink Ambassador Technical Assistance team now seeks to share learnings with individuals, organizations and communities interested in implementing this approach in their local context. 

Participants in this webinar can expect the following:

  • Learn more about the core components of the FreshLink Ambassador approach.
  • Understand the impact FreshLink Ambassadors has on individuals, communities, and farmers’ markets.
  • Hear testimonials from a former FreshLink Ambassador and Farmers’ Market Manager about their experiences and the benefits of this peer-to-peer outreach approach.

Food Navigators

The Michigan Farmers Market Association in collaboration with the Michigan Fitness Foundation created the Food Navigator program which operates in farmers markets that accept food assistance benefits and are located in underserved communities. Food Navigators work to increase access to fresh, affordable food and help shoppers eat healthy.

ILFMA: Re-Envisioning Farmers Markets for the 2020 Season

May 15, 2020
Register Here

Join Janie Maxwell, Executive Director of the Illinois Farmers Market Association to discuss the re-envisioned farmers market using the ILFMA Farmers Market COVID-19 guidelines for market managers, vendors and customers. There will be an open forum at the end of the presentation to for questions.

Pickup and Order Options at Farmers Market: Create Resilience, Not Legal Vulnerability [Webinar]

Thursday, May 21, 2020
3pm ET / 2pm CT / 1pm MT / 12 PT
Register Here

As Farmers Markets add curbside pickup, take advance orders, and offer bundled market purchases, customers are getting fresh, local foods in the midst of a pandemic. But, these innovations can also bring legal risk as well. With some advance planning, market managers can address these risks and create a program with strength beyond COVID-19. We’ll cover issues including increased liability risk, shifting insurance needs, potential licensing obligations, and concerns under site agreements. Your webinar presenters have expertise in farmers markets, legal obligations, and insurance. Join us to learn where legal risk lies and what to do to resolve it.


National Nutrition Incentive Hub Webinars

Pivoting Promotional Strategies to Address Changing Needs: A Presentation and Dialogue

June 11, 2020
1pm ET /12pm CT/ 11am MT /10am PT / 9am ATF
Register: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJwkcuqvrz4oHdW7ExgB5Y0S5vCZbixhb5Tb

Join this presentation and discussion to learn about how nutrition incentive programs are pivoting their promotional strategies to align with changing environments. Fair Food Network’s communications director, Andi Nank, and content marketing manager, Madeleine Bazinski, will give an overview of promising communications strategies during the COVID-19 crisis. Practitioners from the national network will speak to their own challenges and experiences flexibly pivoting their promotional strategies.

Reporting & Evaluation Office Hours (GusNIP & FINI Grantees)

An informal opportunity to: 1) Ask questions about reporting and evaluation related topics of the Nutrition Incentive Hub research and evaluation team. 2) Share challenges, strategies, and successes among other grantees and nutrition incentive practitioners. There will be separate time slots for SNAP Incentive and Produce Prescription grantees and practitioners, but both are open to all. The Hub will curate timely topics, such as reporting and evaluation considerations during COVID-19, as well as take topic suggestions from grantees and practitioners, and provide open discussion time. 

Last Tuesday of Each Month 

  • SNAP Incentive (GusNIP Pilot Projects, GusNIP Projects, and GusNIP Large-Scale Projects) – 2 pm EDT /1pm CT/ 12pm MT /11am PT / 10am ATF

  • Produce Prescription Projects – 3 pm EDT /2pm CT/ 1pm MT /12pm PT / 11am ATF

Register:

  • For the SNAP Incentive office hours, register here

  • For the Produce Prescription office hours, register here

Nutrition Incentive Practitioners Virtual Coffee House Chats [Webinar]

This is an open space for Nutrition Incentive Practioners to share ideas, network, hear updates, and find common solutions.

Past Nutrition Incentive Hub Webinars can be found on the Hub website