SNAP at Farmers Markets Workgroup

A bi-monthly conference call hosted by the USDA Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) for FNS regional offices, state agencies, farmers, markets, advocates, etc. to come together to hear SNAP updates and discuss ways to enhance and expand access to SNAP at farmers markets.

The calls will take place every other month starting in February 2018 at 1pm EST, 12pm CST, 11am MST, 10am PST. All topics are tentative and may change. The calls will include any policy updates and announcements from FNS and regional offices.

Contact Jacqueline Higgins to be added to the calendar invitation and list of participants: Jacqueline.Higgins@fns.usda.gov.

Schedule:
February 13th: Overview: Setting up your market for success- Are you ready for the year?
April 10th: Staff Training
June 12th: Myths of Farmers Markets and SNAP- What are they and how can we address them?
August 14th: Different Cultures: Understanding Your Community/Customer Base
October 9th: Evaluating SNAP

Conference Call Notes:

June 12, 2018, Equipment Program FAQs
February 13, 2018 Call Notes
May 8, 2014 Call recording (Convenience Stores)
March 13, 2014 Call Notes
February 13, 2014 Call Notes
December 12th, 2013 Call Notes

Presentations and Materials:

Regional FNS Farmers Market Contacts
FMC Free SNAP EBT Equipment Program Details

National Association of Convenience Stores

Novo Dia Presentation on Mobile Market+
FMC Guide to Getting a FREE EBT Machine From Your State
South Carolina SNAP Guide for Farmers Markets